Awards announced at annual KHS Athletic Banquet


The best in Kosciusko Whippets’ sports from the 2018 – 2019 season were honored Monday night at the annual Athletic Banquet.

The evening began with a meal for all players and coaches.

Following the meal, parents and members of the community joined the festivities as coaches from 16 teams took to the podium to hand out awards to the best athletes of the year.

See below for a complete list of award winners.



  • Most Outstanding Pitcher – Nolan Yuille, Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Justin Nunn, Most Outstanding Offensive Player – Micah Parker,  Most Valuble Player – Micah Parker, Whippet Award – Lucas Price, Captain Award – Micah Parker, El’Darius Roby, Chase Morgan, Brandon Black
  • All Division Players – Micah Parker, Justin Nunn, El’Darius Roby, Heath McBride, Brandon Black

Basketball (Boys)

  • Most Improved – Jaquan Hall, Offensive Player Of The Year – O’corya Forest, Defensive Player of the Year – Zavier Miller & Antonio Harmon, Whippet Award  – Sam Rigby,  Most Versitile Player  – Terry Skinner, Sixth Man Award – Calvin Banks.
  • All Division Player – Terry Skinner, Calvin Banks, Antonio Harmon, Jaquan Hall
  • Region 4-4A Player of the Year – O’corya Forest

Basketball (Girls)

  • Offensive Player of the Year– Ariel Fleming, Most Versatile Player – Diamond Rayford, 3-Point Shooter Award – Katie Mitchell, C0-Lady Whippet Award – Kayla Davis and De’Asia Borwn, Sixth Woman Award – Aaliyah Amey, Assist Leader – Mihkayla Vaughn, Rookie of the Year – Amiyah Greer
  • All Division Players – Diamond Rayford, Katie Mitchell


  •  Most Improved –Ansley Gordon, Most School Spirit – Kathryn Clare Schuler, Best All-Around Cheerleader – Maddy Gilmore, Whippet Award – Anna Claire Woodfin, Spotter Award – Anna Grace Rigby

Cross Country

  • Newcomer Award – Jacob Davide and Macie Alford, Most Dedicated – Tyler Meritt and Zeke Frazure, Most Improved – Emmalee Myers and Ethan Lindsay, Most Valuable Runner – Gustavo Orduna and Reid Hutchinson, Whippet Award – Cody Pope
  • All Division Players – Reid Hutchinson, Tyler Meritt, Gustavo Orduna, Jorge Orduna, Zeke Frazure


  • Most Valuable Offensive Player – Zavier Miller, Most Valuable Defensive Player – Kendrell Gamble, Most Oustanding Offensive Lineman – Isaac Moore, Most Valuable Defensive Lineman –  Davonta Turner, Most Outstanding Offensive Skills Player – Antonio Harmon, Most Outstanding Defensive Skill Player – Devonte Ellis, Most Valuable Special Teams Player – Kody Causey, Hard Hat Award – Jordan Patrick, Most Valuable Running Back – Kadarius Banks, Golden Whippet Awards – Nicholas Mallet and Parker Jones, Top Newcomer Award – Davion Roby 
  • All Division Players – Zavier “Bobo” Miller, Kody Causey, Nicholas Mallet, Devonte Ellis, Parker Jones, Kendrell Gamble (2nd team) Jordan Patrick, Azikwe Mays, Isaac Moore, Jedaris Tolar, Davonta Turner, Ethan Wood, Paul Wood, (Honorable Mention) Ethan Dawson, Heath McBride, Cody Pope
  • Region 4-4A Athlete of the Year – Antonio Harmon


  • Medalist – Jacob Gibson, Most Improved – Carter Jones, Rookie of the Year – Jeremy Gibson, Medalist Runner Up – Jett Crosby


  • Best Overall Lifter – Nicholas Mallet, Most Improved – Jaquarius Thomas, Whippet Award – Isaac Moore, Heart of a Champion – Michael Rimmer

Soccer (Boys)

  • Rookie of the Year – Robert Pickle, Offensive Player of the Year – Billy Paul Russell, Most Improved – Will Carter, Best Defensive Player – Mardy Blackmore,  Whippet Award  – Alfredo Martin, Most Valuable Player –John Marc Sims
  • All Division Players – Alfredo Martin and Mardy Blackmore

Soccer (Girls)

  • Most Improved – Reid Hutchinson, Best Defensive Player – Anna Catherine Cheek, Best Offensive Player – Raven Pernell,  Most Valuable Player – Mackenzie Alford, Rookie Of The Year – Destiny Van, Whippet Award  – Vanessa Martinez
  • All Division Players – Mackenzie Alford and Raven Pernell



Softball (Fast Pitch)

  • Most Valuable Defensive Player  – Josie Meggs, Most Valuable Offensive Player – Kelly Hood, Lady Whippet Award – Maddy Gilmore, Dirt Dawg Award – Kelly Hood, Most Valuable Player – Katie Mitchell,  Most Improved – Campbell Blaine, Academic Award  – Abigail Myers, Coaches Award – Emma Rush, Heart of a Whippet Award – Madeline McCown, Q.A.B Award – Campbell Blaine, Teammate of the Year – Katie Mitchell
  • All Division Players – Kelly Hood, Katie Mitchell, Josie Meggs, Maddy Gilmore, Emma Rush, Annaleigh Jones, Campbell Blaine, (Honorable Mention) Laken Milner and Brooke Mitchell
  • Division 4-4A MVP – Katie Mitchell
  • Division 4-4A Offensive MVP – Kelly Hood
  • Division 4-4 Defensive MVP – Josie Meggs
  • All State Team – Maddy Gilmore, Katie Mitchell (2nd team)

Softball (Slow Pitch)

  • Most Valuable Player – Josie Meggs, Lady Whippet Award – Madeline McCown, Coaches Award  – Gracie Williams, Highest Batting Average – Kelly Hood, Most Improved – Lizzie Kate Jones
  • All Division Players – Kelly Hood, Josie Meggs, Maddy Gilmore, Kathryn Clare Schuler; (Honorable Mention) Lakelynn Fancher


  • Most Valuable Player – Kody Causey and Lakelynn Fancer, Rookie of the Year – Arissa Olive and Eliss Armon, Darlecia Carter, Leadership Award – Parker Jones
  • Region 4-4A  Girls Doubles Champions – Madison Autry and Lakelynn Fancher
  • Region 4-4A Mixed Doubles Chmapions – Javonte Ragsdale and Karla Nash
  • Region 4-4A Boys Doubles Runner Up – Kody Cause and Ben Brunt

Track (Boys)

  • Iron Man Award – Duntavies Fondren, Best Field Athelte  – Terry Skinner, Best Relay Team – Calvin Banks, Zavier Miller, Devonta Ellis, Vinterrius Hunt, Most Improved – Kendrell Gamble and Azikwe Mays

Track (Girls)

  • Best Field Event – Mikayla Vaughn, Golden Shoe Award – Tyler Meritt, Best Runner – Mikayla McBride, Best Relay Team – Tyneria Cross, Terrica Talley, Ta’Lynda Boyd, Diamond Rayford

Additional accomplishments:

State Champions:

  • Devonte Ellis (Boy’s Track) – 100 Meter Dash

Division Champions:

  • Fast Pitch Softball
  • Tennis – Girls Doubles
  • Tennis – Mixed Doubles
  • Boys Track
  • Baseball (Co-Champions)

Leave a Reply

We encourage open dialogue but if you disagree with someone, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family-friendly group.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *