Richard Greene, former Director of the Mid-Mississippi Regional Library System (MMRLS) for 42 years, received the Peggy May Award during the Mississippi Library Association’s Conference in Meridian on Friday, October 19, 2018.

Mr. Greene was nominated for the award by Hulen Bivens, Executive Director of the Mississippi Library Commission.

The Peggy May Award was created to memorialize Peggy May’s professional accomplishments and to recognize individuals who exemplify her outstanding achievement in library development and/or recruitment of personnel to the library field.

May, a graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi, was known for her diligence, intellect, leadership abilities, and interpersonal skills. Her positive attitude and excitement about libraries inspired and influenced others across the profession. Ms. May was a former Director of the Tubb Library at East Mississippi Junior College, now known as the Tubb-May Library in her honor and was a consultant for the Mississippi Library Commission.  She was constantly on the move; giving support, encouragement and creative suggestions to librarians all across the State of Mississippi.

Mr. Greene previously received the award in 2000, making him the only individual to receive the award more than once.  Other past recipients of this prestigious award include Mary Love, former MMRLS Interim Director and former Mississippi Library Commission Director, in 1976 and Frances Coleman, current Professor/Dean of Libraries at the Mississippi State University, in 1996.

Josh Haidet, current Director of the Mid-Mississippi Regional Library System, introduced Mr. Greene at the MLA Awards Breakfast. Other MMRLS staff attending the Awards Breakfast were Charla Grace, Attala County Librarian; Nancy Cain; Carthage-Leake County Librarian; Wendy Rushing, Winona-Montgomery County Librarian; and Laura Lawson, Lexington Librarian.  Also attending were Linda Milner, former MMRLS Assistant Director and Mr. Greene’s son, Erik.

Pictured (L to R): Nancy Cain, Carthage-Leake County Librarian; Josh Haidet, Mid-Mississippi Regional Library System Director; Richard Greene, Peggy May Award Recipient; Charla Grace, Attala County Librarian; Laura Lawson, Lexington Librarian; Wendy Rushing, Winona-Montgomery County Librarian

Leave a Reply

We encourage open dialogue but if you disagree with someone, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family-friendly group.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *