Kosciusko Whippets celebrate the year in sports at annual banquet


The best in Kosciusko Whippets’ sports from the 2017 – 2018 season were honored Monday night at the annual Athletic Banquet.

The evening began with a meal for all players and coaches.

Following the meal, parents and members of the community joined the festivities as coaches from 16 teams took to the podium to hand out awards to the best athletes of the year.

See below for a complete list of award winners.



  • Most Improved Player – Ethan Gowan, Most Outstanding Pitcher – Walker Yuille, Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Justin Nunn, Most Outstanding Offensive Player  – Ethan Gowan, Most Valuble Player – Walker Yuille, Whippet Award – River Burell,
  • All Division Players – Chase Morgan, Walker Yuille, Ethan Gowan, Micah Parker

Basketball (Boys)

  • Most Improved – E’shavious Mays, Offensive Player Of The Year  – Terry Skinner, Best Defensive Player – Devonta Grove, Whippet Award  – Jaquan Williams, Most Versitile Player  – Calvin Banks, Sixth Man Award – Antonio Harmon, Best 3-Point Shooter – O’corya Forest
  • All Division Player – Terry Skinner and Calvin Banks

Basketball (Girls)

  • Offensive Player of the Year– Kenyatta Allen, Most Versatile Player  – Samia Veasy, Co-Best 3-Point Shooter Award – Katie Mitchell and Ameria Riley, Lady Whippet Award – Kiarra Woodard, Sixth Woman Award – Diamond Rayford, Assist Leader – Mahogany Perteet
  • All Division Players – Kenyatta Allen, Samia Veasy


  •  Most Improved –Terrica Tallet, Loud and Proud Award – Anna Grace Rigby, Best All-Around Cheerleader – Paris Nichols, Whippet Award – Abigail Myers, Spotter Award – Kansas Logan

Boy’s Cross Country

  • Newcomer Award – Jorge Orduna, Most Dedicated – Marcus Grandelag, Most Improved – Ethan Lindsay, Most Valuable Runner – Daniel Garland and Reid Hutchinson, Whippet Award – Erubiel Garcia

Girl’s Cross Country

  • Newcomer Award – Mary Patton Henderson, Most Dedicated – Emmalee Myers, Most Improved – Anna Catherine Cheek, Whippet Award – Cristal Garcia


  • Most Outstanding Offensive Player – Jaquan Williams, Most Valuable Defensive Player – Kahare Haynes, Most Valuable Offensive Lineman – Chris Riley, Most Valuable Defensive Lineman –  Nick Mallet, Most Outstanding Offensive Skills Player – Zavier “Bobo” Miller, Most Outstanding Defensive Skill Player – Clint Williams, Most Valuable Special Teams Player – Jake Cockroft, Hard Hat Award – Devin Foster, Most Valuable Running Back – Kadarius Banks, Hard Hat Award – Devin Foster, Golden Whippet Award – Chris Robinson and Kadarius Banks, Top Newcomer Award – Antonio Harmon
  • All Division Players – Jaquan Williams, Kahare Haynes, Zavier “Bobo” Miller, Clint Williams, Kadarius Banks, (2nd team) Jake Cockroft, Devin Fostet, Dietric Hull, Nicholas Mallet, Chris Riley, Paul Wood, Chris Robinson, John Presley Tate, Taquan Winters, (Honorable Mention) Kendrell Gamble, Max Cook, Kenwon Riley, Devonta Ellis, Clark Dean, Kody Causey, McCarvin Carter, Garrett Dickerson
  • Region 4-4A Offensive Newcomer of the Year – Antonio Harmon


  • Medalist – Jett Crosby, Most Improved  – Carter Jones


  • Best Lightweight Lifter – Kentrell Teague, Best Heavyweight Lifter  – Michael Rimmer, Whippet Award  – Paul Wood

Soccer (Boys)

  • Co-Rookie of the Year – Alfredo Brown and Marcus Grandelag, Most Improved – Davion Harmon, Best Offensive Player  – Jake Cockroft, Best Defensive Player – Erubiel Garcia;  Whippet Award  – Josh Hamilton, Most Valuable Player  –Brandon Russell
  • All Division Players – Jake Cockroft, Jose Orduna, Erubiel Garcia, Josh Hamilton, Brandon Russell

Soccer (Girls)

  • Most Improved – Camryn Greer, C0-Best Defensive Player – Olatz Goya and Vanessa Martinez, Best Offensive Player  – Mary Patton Henderson,  Most Valuable Player  – Jalaycia Brown, Rookie Of The Year – Anna Gowan, Whippet Award  – Ali Grace Wright
  • All Division Players – Jalaycia Brown, Mackenzie Alford, Mary Patton Henderson, Vanessa Martinez



Softball (Fast Pitch)

  • Most Valuable Defensive Player  – Josie Meggs, Most Valuable Offensive Player  – Maddy Gilmore, Lady Whippet Award – Abigail Myers, Dirt Dawg Award – Kelly Hood, Most Valuable Player – Katie Mitchell,  Most Improved – Kelly Hood, Academic Award  – Abigail Myers, Coaches Award – Makenzie Ryals
  • All Division Players – Kelly Hood, Madeline McCown, Katie Mitchell, Josie Meggs, Maddy Gilmore, Emma Rush
  • Division 4-4A MVP – Katie Mitchell
  • Division 4-4A Offensive MVP – Maddy Gilmore
  • Division 4-4 Defensive MVP – Josie Meggs
  • MHSAA All State Tourney Team – Kelly Hood, Abigail Myers, Maddy Gilmore, Katie Mitchell

Softball (Slow Pitch)

  • Most Valuable Player  – Kelly Hood, Most Valuable Defensive Player – Makenzie Ryals, Most Valuable Offensive Player  – Kelly Sheets, Lady Whippet Award – Sarah Caroline Henderson, Coaches Award  – Gabbie Kelley, Dirt Dawg Award – Melissa Gowan, Highest Batting Average – Sarah Caroline Henderson, Heart of a Champion Award – Marian Jones
  • All Division Players – Kelly Hood, Kelly Sheets, Gabbie Kelley, Sarah Caroline Henderson


  • Golden Racket Award– Kody Causey and Karla Nash, Most Improved Award   – Darlecia Carter, Golden Whippet Award  – Lakelyn Fancher, Heart Of A Champion  – John Presley Tate,
  • All Division Players -Madison Autry, Lakelyn Fancher, Darlecia Carter, Kestyn Williams,  Karla Nash, Thomas Brunt, Benjamin Burn, Kody Causey, Javonta Ragsdale

Track (Boys)

  • Eye of the Tiger Award  – Calvin Banks, Best Runner Award  – Eshavious Mays, Best Relay Team – Calvin Banks, Kadarius Banks, Devonta Ellis, Jaquan Williams, Flash Award – Devonta Ellis

Track (Girls)

  • Best Field Event – Makayla Vaughn, Golden Shoe Award – Ta’lynda Boyd, Best All Around – Diamona Rayford, Best Relay Team – Macy Arnold, Markayla McBride, Mackenzie Alford, Brishana Simmons 

Additional accomplishments:

State Champions:

  • Fast Pitch Softball

North State Champions:

  • Fast Pitch Softball

Division Champions:

  • Fast Pitch Softball

Leave a Reply

We encourage open dialogue but if you disagree with someone, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family-friendly group.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *