MS legislature sets aside money for Attala County roads


Mississippi lawmakers have earmarked $111 million for projects for in Attala and several other counties throughout the state in Senate Bill 2002.

That includes $61 million from oil spill damages and $50 million that lawmakers agreed to borrow earlier in the special session that ended Wednesday.

The bill would give at least 72 percent of money to Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and parts of George, Stone and Pearl River counties and the rest to the remaining 76 counties.

Earmarked funds for Attala County projects include:

  • South Huntington Street and other street improvements, Kosciusko: $750,000.
  • Paving and rehabilitation of Attala County Road 2221/Airport Road: $150,000.
  • Attala County justice court parking lot resurfacing: $150,000.
  • Jack Post Manufacturing Building parking lot resurfacing: $150,000.
  • Sallis road resurfacing: $100,000.
  • Ethel road resurfacing: $100,000.

Other central Mississippi projects set to receive funds:

  • Carroll County: Carroll County Road 157 bridge rebuilding: $500,000; Washington Street improvements, Carrollton: $200,000; Vaiden road resurfacing: $100,000; Resurfacing of Marshall Elementary School Road, North Carrollton: $100,000.
  • Choctaw County: Choctaw County road resurfacing: $250,000.
  • Holmes County: West street resurfacing: $500,000; Emory Road resurfacing from US 51 to Interstate 55: $300,000.
  • Leake County: Valley, Williams, Franklin streets and McMillan Park Road, Carthage: $500,000; Barnes Road resurfacing: $300,000.
  • Neshoba County: Four-laning Mississippi 19 from Philadelphia city limits to Tucker Road: $2 million.
  • Winston County: Road and infrastructure for Winston Plywood and Veneer, Louisville: $500,000.

Leave a Reply

We encourage open dialogue but if you disagree with someone, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family-friendly group.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *